Paul Harris Awards

The Paul Harris Fellow recognition acknowledges individuals who contribute, or who have contributions made in their name, of $1,000 to The Rotary Foundation.

Rotary established the recognition in 1957 to encourage and show appreciation for substantial contributions to what was then the Foundation’s only program, Rotary Foundation Fellowships for Advanced Study, the precursor to Ambassadorial Scholarships.

The first Paul Harris Fellows included past RI Director Allison G. Brush, who served during the 1937-38 Rotary year, and longtime RI Treasurer Rufus F. Chapin, both for donations made in 1946. Mrs. Adan Vargas was the first woman to receive the recognition, for a gift made in 1953. Mrs. Harry L. Jones was the second, and one of only five people recognized for contributions actually made in that inaugural year.

The number of Paul Harris Fellows reached the 1 million mark in 2006.


Donna Arnold
Ted Bastedo
Stuart Beaton
Don Blight
Dale Bliss
Dave Brooks
Fay Brooks
Al Collins
Jim Doswell
Gord Dowsely (Moscow)
Bob Farrell
Walter Fernandez
Ted Gilbank
Abb Gilbert
Marjory Hodges
Tom Hodgson
Syd Hopkins
Wayne Johnson
Jack Judge
Danny Kallinteris
Steve Kassinger
Carole Keys
Dave Lander
Doug Langmaid
Stan Lovell
Tan MacCready
Jean MacLeod
Tom Maxwell
George McCormack
Brett McLellan
Dave Perkin
Steve Perry
Gary Polonsky
Charles Powers
Major Mario Puglisevich
Edna Ridge
Chris Roberts
Roy Rowsell
Alice Sheffield
Dorothy Stirling
Ed Storie
Mike Uphoff
Rhonda Vanderlinde
Claude Vipond
Bert Weigel
Paul Harris Fellows
Bob Alexander * — Ron Dick
Bob Armstrong Abb Gilbert
Kevin Harding Jr. Tom Maxwell
John Henry
Tom Hodgson *
Bonnie Brown * — John Hudson
Emmy Theme *
David Black
Rich Black
Dave Brooks
Al Densham
Geoff Lloyd
Art Lovell *
Dave Mills
Louise Parkes
Dave Perkin
Chris Roberts
Trish Best
(*) Multiple Paul Harris Fellows